NHRA Midwest Nationals Go to Torrence, Hight, and Gray

The second round in the NHRA Mello Yello Racing Series "Countdown to the Championship" hosted by Gateway Motorsport Park saw big wins for Steve Torrence, Robert Hight and Tanner Gray. In Top Fuel, Torrence continued his hot streak and followed his Round One win with a victory at the AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals. Torrence pushed his Capco Contractors dragster to 3.77 ET at 323.66 mph win over Clay Millican. It was the seventh Wally of the year and the 23rd career victory for Torrence, who now has a 70-point lead in the championship over Millican.

Defending Funny Car world champion Robert Hight barely notched the win on Sunday as his John Force Racing AAA Camaro exploded into flames. With fire in his face, Hight's car took a hard left into the wall as he crossed the finish line. Hight claimed the win with a 4.036 second ET at 276.29 mph to Tim Wilkerson’s 4.413 at 201.91 mph. The new Funny Car point leader was able to walk away from the wreckage but the fiery crash earned him a trip to the hospital for observation. Driving his Valvoline Chevrolet Camaro, Tanner Gray grabbed his sixth win of the season and eleventh of his budding Pro Stock career. Gray knocked off Drew Skillman, who was running in his second consecutive Final Round.

2018 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Points*

After twenty of twenty-four championship events, the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series point standings for Top Fuel, Funny Car and Pro Stock include:

Top Fuel

1) Steve Torrence, 2,346;  2) Clay Millican, 2,276;  3) Tony Schumacher, 2,225;  4) Leah Pritchett, 2,192;  5) Antron Brown, 2,169;  6) Doug Kalitta, 2,135;  7) Mike Salinas, 2,119;  8) Terry McMillen, 2,093;  9) (tie) Brittany Force, 2,085; 9) (tie) Scott Palmer, 2,085

Funny Car

1) Robert Hight, 2,270;  2) J)R) Todd, 2,240;  3) Courtney Force, 2,200;  4) Tim Wilkerson, 2,196;  5) Ron Capps, 2,182;  6) Tommy Johnson Jr., 2,166;  7) Matt Hagan, 2,144;  8) John Force, 2,116;  9) Jack Beckman, 2,113;  10) Shawn Langdon, 2,086

Pro Stock

1) Tanner Gray, 2,296;  2) Vincent Nobile, 2,244;  3) Drew Skillman, 2,222;  4) Jeg Coughlin, 2,215;  5) Greg Anderson, 2,206;  6) Erica Enders, 2,192;  7) Jason Line, 2,133;  8) Bo Butner, 2,120;  9) Deric Kramer, 2,104;  10) Chris McGaha, 2,064

The 2018 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series continues Oct. 4-7 with the third race in the Countdown to the Championship, the AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals at Texas Motorplex in Dallas.

*Includes points earned at the seventh annual AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals from Gateway Motorsports Park.


The Importance of Spark Plug Maintenance for Chainsaws
Different Types of Spark Plugs and Their Applications
The Role of Spark Plugs in Engine Performance
OEM Spark Plugs vs. Aftermarket Options: What To Know