E3 Spark Plugs Congratulates Ryan Villopoto for his Historic Million-Dollar Win

Ryan Villopoto made history winning the inaugural Monster Energy Cup and becoming the first off-road mortorcycle racer to take home a $1 million prize.

When Ryan Villopoto crossed the finish line in the inaugural Monster Energy Cup he made history in more ways than one. The Monster Energy Kawasaki rider swept all three main events and became the first in off-road motorcycle racing history to take home a $1 million prize.

“It’s pretty unreal,” Villopoto said after the historic win.

Villopoto started both the first and second main events by taking the holeshot and remained in the lead until crossing the finish line. Suzuki’s Mike Alessi claimed the holeshot in the third and final main event, but Villopoto and Ryan Dungey were hot on his trail. It didn’t take long for Villopoto to take the lead. He passed Alessi in the opening lap. Alessi and Dungey traded positions on lap 2 before both Dungey and Brett Metcalfe passed Alessi. But neither was able to catch up to Villopoto.

Not one to rest on his laurels (especially after an amazing 2010 comeback from a 2009 knee injury) Villopoto is already eyeing a repeat sweep at next year’s Monster Energy Cup.

“To back it up next year would be hard, so if we do, it would be great,” he says. “I can’t thank my team enough for this amazing victory.”

E3 Spark Plugs congratulates Villopoto and all the other placers in the Monster Energy Cup. Looking forward to watching Villopoto aggressively defend his title in 2012. And remember to put some monster racing power into your motorcycle with a set of E3 spark plugs – “Born to Burn.”

Monster Energy Cup Class Results

  1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki (1,1,1)
  2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM (3,2,2)
  3. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki (4,3,3)
  4. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Suzuki (7,7,5)
  5. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (5,4,10)
  6. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha (9,9,7)
  7. Nick Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki (14,11,4)
  8. Jimmy Albertson, Ozark, Mo., Yamaha (11,10,8)
  9. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki (12,6,11)
  10. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki (6,21,6)


A close-up view of a brand-new nickel electrode spark plug for an automotive internal combustion engine.
The Importance of Spark Plug Maintenance for Chainsaws
Different Types of Spark Plugs and Their Applications
The Role of Spark Plugs in Engine Performance