E3 Motorcycle Spark Plugs Salutes Ryan Dungey on Another New Record

E3 Motorcycle Spark Plugs fans salute Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider Ryan Dungey on setting yet another AMA Lucas Oil MX Pro National record. The cream of the 450cc crop throughout 2010 became the first rookie motocross racer in history to win 10 of the 12 championship rounds. Week after week, Dungey defeated the world’s best riders in the world’s most prestigious motocross championship. He certainly left little doubt that he is currently the “Best of the Best” by winning the final national at Pala MX Raceway Park outside San Diego, CA, this past weekend.

Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Ryan Dungey claimed another AMA Lucas Oil MX Pro record becoming the first rookie in series history to win 10 rounds in the same National Championship season. Photo courtesy of www.ryandungey.com

Red Bull Honda rider Andrew Short is always a sure bet for the holeshot at the start of any AMA national. Once again, it was Short out front early with Yamaha/MotoConcepts rider Ryan Sipes in second ahead of Dungey and Honda’s Brett Metcalfe. Once again, Dungey would twist the throttle and take the lead. Metcalfe would protect his second place in the 450cc point’s championship by passing Short later in Moto One dropping the Red Bull Honda rider to third. Sipes would hold on to fourth after battling with an aggressive young Texan, Kyle Regal.

The start of Moto Two was “almost a surprise” in that Short was outraced through the first corner by a determined Brett Metcalfe. The Aussie has often had the speed this season at the start and the finish but hasn’t always stayed upright during the middle of the moto. Short would stay in the chase but both he and Metcalfe would watch Dungey pull away, yet again. Several factory teams have brought in former World Champions (even Yamaha’s Bubba Stewart) to challenge Dungey’s dominance but the Rockstar Makita rider has shown them all the backside of his Suzuki.

Dungey would cruise home for the win leaving the pair of Honda riders to battle amongst themselves for second on the day and second place in the AMA Lucas Oil 450cc national points standing. Although Short would pass Metcalfe, the Geico Powersports rider would finish third ahead of fellow Aussie, Ben Townley. Yamaha riders Kyle Chisholm and Ryan Sipes would finish fifth and sixth respectively. Metcalfe’s third overall at Pala allowed the Honda rider to maintain a 3-point lead for second place in the 450cc MX national championship.

Dungey’s historic win put the crowning touches on what was the most surprising 450cc outdoor MX national season in years. Suzuki’s Dungey will join fellow American racers Trey Canard (Geico Powersports Honda) and Andrew Short (Red Bull Honda) as the United States team tries to sweep the Trophy Des Nations at Lakewood MX in Denver, CO, in two weeks. If you are looking for a winning combination for your car, truck or motorcycle engine, insist upon E3 car spark plugs as an eco-friendly option for your favorite ride. Our patented DiamondFire Technology will deliver the Energy, Efficiency and Ecology that you need.



AMA 450cc MX – Pala AMA MX National (Round 12)
1)    Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, MN, Suzuki           (1-1)
2)    Andrew Short, Smithville, TX, Honda               (3-2)
3)    Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda         (2-3)
4)    Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda                 (6-4)
5)    Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, KY, Yamaha                (4-6)
6)    Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, FL, Yamaha                  (9-5)
7)    Kevin Windham, Centerville, MS, Honda        (7-8)
8)    Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, IA, Yamaha          (12-7)
9)    Kyle Regal, Kemp, TX, Honda                            (5-14)
10)    Nic Wey, Dewitt, MI, Kawasaki        (11-9)

1)    Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, MN, Suzuki            543
2)    Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda        -145
3)    Andrew Short, Smithville, TX, Honda               -150
4)    Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda                 -219
5)    Mike Alessi, Victorville, CA, KTM                      -229
6)    Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, FL, Yamaha                  -277
7)    Josh Grant, Riverside, CA                                   -283
8)    Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, KY, Yamaha                -298
9)    Kyle Regal, Kemp, TX, Honda                             -319
10)    Nic Wey, Dewitt, MI, Kawasaki        -320


A close-up view of a brand-new nickel electrode spark plug for an automotive internal combustion engine.
The Importance of Spark Plug Maintenance for Chainsaws
Different Types of Spark Plugs and Their Applications
The Role of Spark Plugs in Engine Performance