Canard Wins Again

After waiting three years to win his first AMA 250cc MX national event, Geico Powersports Honda’s Trey Canard only had to wait one week to win his second championship series race. E3 Spark Plugs Racing fans watched while rain fell on Canard during the second moto as he dominated Round 7 of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro MX Championship. For the rest of the MX Lights field, it was survival of the elements, as Scottish rookie Dean Wilson and his Pro Circuit teammate Tyla Rattray finished the day second and third overall aboard their Monster Energy 250cc Kawasakis.

After injuring his knee in a crash during the first moto, Kawasaki rider Dean Wilson rebounded with a solid performance as rain fell on Round 7 of the AMA Lucas Oil 250cc MX National Championship. Photo courtesy of Pro Circuit Racing.

Although Moto One has belonged to Frenchman Christophe Pourcel during the first six rounds of the Lucas Oil AMA Championship, there have been five different overall winners with four of those being first-time AMA national wins. Saturday’s opening moto was no surprise as Pourcel and Canard traded the lead several times before Pourcel would double an uphill jump to claim the win ahead of Canard, Kawasaki teammates Jake Weimer and Tyla Rattray, Honda rider Blake Wharton and Pro Circuit’s Dean Wilson. Wilson was running third for most of the race before crashing his Kawasaki and injuring his knee.

Nico Izzi pulled the holeshot in Moto Two ahead of Canard and Wilson, both wasted little time in getting around the Yamaha rider. Pourcel, the 250cc AMA MX national point’s leader, had his typical bad start leaving the former world champion to struggle outside the top ten for most of the second race. With the rain falling harder and harder, former World 250cc Champion Tyla Rattray and Geico Powersports Honda rider Justin Barcia would race past a tiring Eli Tomac in third. As of late, Tomac hasn’t shown the strength that landed the rookie Honda rider a national win at Hang Town in the AMA MX season opener. Barcia would eventually gap Rattray and Pro Circuit Kawasaki teammate Jake Weimer who would finish in fourth.

Both Canard and Wilson made up ground in their battle with Pourcel for the 2010 national outdoor championship points lead. Next week, the teams head west to Washougal, Washington, for Round 8 of the 2010 AMA Lucas Oil MX Pro Championship on Saturday, July 24th. Don’t forget to check the E3 Spark Plugs news blog for race results, and pick our patented DiamondFire technology when you change plugs in your car, truck, motorcycle or lawn equipment. E3 car spark plugs provide the Energy, Efficiency and Ecology needed for today’s fast-paced world.

2010 Lucas Oil AMA Motocross Pro Championship

AMA 250cc MX – Spring Creek National (Round 7)
1)    Trey Canard, Shawnee, OK., Honda         (2-1)
2)    Dean Wilson, Canada, Kawasaki        (6-2)
3)    Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki         (4-4)
4)    Jake Weimer, Rupert, ID, Kawasaki        (3,5)
5)    Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki     (1,10)
6)    Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, TX, Honda    (5,7)
7)    Broc Tickle, Holly, MI, Yamaha         (7,6)
8)    Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, GA, Honda     (3,25)
9)    Tommy Searle, Murrieta, CA, KTM        (11,9)
10)     Alex Martin, MN,  Honda            (8,15)

1)    Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki    296
2)    Dean Wilson, Canada, Kawasaki        -32
3)    Trey Canard, Shawnee, OK, Honda        -44
4)    Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki        -48
5)    Broc Tickle, Holly, MI Yamaha            -87
6)    Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, GA, Honda    -95
7)    Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, TX, Honda    -121
8)    Eli Tomac, Cortez, CO, Honda            -122
9)    Jake Weimer, Rupert, ID, Kawasaki        -131
10)    Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Yamaha        -149


Different Types of Insulator Materials Found in Spark Plugs
A close-up view of a brand-new nickel electrode spark plug for an automotive internal combustion engine.
The Importance of Spark Plug Maintenance for Chainsaws
Different Types of Spark Plugs and Their Applications