Bloomquist Maintains Winning Streak in Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Scott Bloomquist claimed his fourth straight win in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series April 30. He's also in fifth place for the E3 Spark Plugs Challenge.

Scott Bloomquist had a busy – and profitable – month firmly establishing himself as the man to beat in the E3 Spark Plugs co-sponsored Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. He swept the April races, taking his fourth straight win at the Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex in Markleysburg, PA Saturday night.

Bloomquist took the lead on lap four from Chris Wall and went unchallenged through the end of the race. This latest victory marks his 31st career series win. Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL finished second, followed by Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN; Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN; and Jared Hawkins of Fairmont, WV.

“Usually we get on a late season win streak, but here early on, everything is just clicking,” Bloomquist said in a post-race interview Saturday night. “The series is tougher than ever before and to beat these guys it takes a lot of hard work.”

Bloomquist leads the series point standings with 1210 points, followed by O’Neal (1110), Owens (1090), Pearson (980) and Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA (925).

Tim McCreadie is in the lead for the 2011 series’ E3 Spark Plugs Challenge, which rewards drivers for perfect attendance and promotion of the E3 brand throughout the series. Rounding out the top five in the challenge are Brad Neat, O’Neal, Owens and Bloomquist.

Next stop for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series is Paducah International Raceway in Paducah, KY, Saturday May 7th. See you in the stands.


A close-up view of a brand-new nickel electrode spark plug for an automotive internal combustion engine.
The Importance of Spark Plug Maintenance for Chainsaws
Different Types of Spark Plugs and Their Applications
The Role of Spark Plugs in Engine Performance