Dungey Wins at Firestone MX, Tomac Fades

After winning the number one plate during his rookie supercross season aboard a 450cc factory Suzuki, Ryan Dungey disappointed some fans with his 8th place overall finish at Hangtown MX in the opening round of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship two weeks ago. In round two at Firestone MX, Dungey silenced the skeptics with impressive 1-1 moto finishes to move within eleven points of series leader Chad Reed who finished second overall on the day. Native Texan Kyle Regal was third overall after he claimed the first pro podium of his young career with a solid ride in Moto Two that saw the native Texan pass KTM’s Mike Alessi, Honda’s Brett Metcalfe and the defending MX champion Chad Reed.

AMA Women's National Champion, Ashley Fiolek hasn't let being deaf slow her progress in the sport that she loves. The Red Bull Honda rider from St. Augustine, FL, also won a Gold Medal at the 2009 X-Games. Go, girl!

The Texas heat and humidity took its toll on Honda’s rookie sensation Eli Tomac. Tomac took the lead in the both motos and it looked as though he might repeat his AMA record setting performance of round one. But, in the first moto, Tomac lost the lead to Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider Christophe Pourcel on the last lap. In Moto Two, Canadian rookie Dean Wilson would pass Tomac early and appeared to have a commanding lead that might earn him his first pro MX win. But, World Champion MX rider Tyla Rattray and Yamaha’s Broc Tickle passed Wilson on the white flag lap. Pourcel captured the overall for the day with 1-5 finishes and leaves Texas with a nine-point lead in the Lights Division of Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship series.

No surprises in the women’s division as the trio from Florida claimed the podium for the second time in two races. Yamaha pro Jessica Patterson won both WMX motos, St. Augustine native Ashley Fiolek had a pair of second place finishes with Tarah Gieger bringing her Honda home in third. The 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship continues next weekend at the RockStar Energy High Point National when riders travel to Mt. Morris, PA, for round three. Don’t forget to bookmark the E3 Spark Plug website and try our patented DiamondFire motocycle spark plug in your favorite ride.

Read on for race results and championship standings.


2010 Lucas Oil AMA Motocross Pro Championship

AMA 450cc MX – Firestone National (Round 2)
1)    Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, MN, Suzuki     (1-1)
2)    Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki         (2-3)
3)    Kyle Regal, Kemp, TX, Honda             (6-2)
4)    Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda         (7-4)
5)    Josh Grant, Riverside, CA Yamaha         (5-10)
6)    Tommy Hahn, Decatur, TX, Suzuki         (4-12)
7)    Mike Alessi, Victorville, CA, KTM         (12-5)
8)    Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda        (3-16)
9)    Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, FL, Yamaha         (9-9)
10)    Michael Byrne, Australia, Yamaha         (8-11)

1)    Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki          87
2)    Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, MN, Suzuki    -11
3)    Mike Alessi, Victorville, CA, KTM        -19
4)    Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda        -21
5)    Josh Grant, Riverside, CA, Yamaha        -27
6)    Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, CA, Honda        -31
7)    Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda        -33
8)    Kyle Regal, Kemp, TX, Honda            -36
9)    Tommy Hahn, Decatur, TX, Suzuki        -44
10)    Andrew Short, Smithville, TX, Honda        -50

AMA 250cc MX – Firestone National (Round 2)
1)    Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki     (1-5)
2)    Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki         (6-1)
3)    Dean Wilson, Canada, Kawasaki        (3-3)
4)    Broc Tickle, Holly, MI, Yamaha         (8-2)
5)    Trey Canard, Shawnee, OK., Honda         (4-7)
6)    Eli Tomac, Cortez, CO, Honda            (2-11)
7)    Wil Hahn, Decatur, TX, Honda         (9-6)
8)    Jake Weimer, Rupert, ID, Kawasaki         (5-12)
9)    Max Anstie, England, Yamaha         (15-4)
10)    Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, GA, Honda     (10-8)

1)    Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki      86
2)    Eli Tomac, Cortez, CO, Honda              -9
3)    Dean Wilson, Canada, Kawasaki        -17
4)    Trey Canard, Shawnee, OK, Honda        -18
5)    Broc Tickle, Holly, MI Yamaha            -25
6)    Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki        -28
7)    Jake Weimer, Rupert, ID, Kawasaki        -30
8)    Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, GA, Honda    -32
9)    Wil Hahn, Decatur, TX, Honda        -36
10)    Max Anstie, England, Yamaha            -46