Dungey Beats Reed at Budds Creek

Red Bull Honda rider Andrew Short wins the opening moto of Round Four at the 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro MX Championship and posted a 1-5 on the day for second overall at the Budds Creek National.

After a disappointing DNF last week at High Point National, defending outdoor national champion Chad Reed rebounded with a 4-2 finish at the Budds Creek National in Maryland for a third place overall. Red Bull Honda’s Andrew Short had the crowds cheering during the opening moto but Dungey’s dominating ride in Moto Two left Short and Reed to battle it out for second and third overall, respectively. Reed now trails Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey by 36 points for the 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro MX Championship crown after round four.

The very popular Budds Creek MX Park is always a fan favorite as the event’s promoters have left the very hilly, very fast track layout much the same over the years. This year’s MX National was no exception with fan-thrilling rides put in by Jagermeister KTM’s Mike Alessi aboard the controversial 350cc screamer and Lucas Oil’s Ben Townley aboard his Troy Lee Designs Honda. Toyota Yamaha pro Josh Grant was hooked up all day and posted consistent 5-4 finishes for fourth place overall. Alessi, Short and Grant move to fourth, fifth and sixth in the championship points series.

The Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship is the most prestigious motocross series in the world and this year’s first four rounds have shown the international flavor of riders in both the 450cc MX and 250cc MX classes. Now, teams head west to Denver (Lakewood, Colorado) for Round 5 at Thunder Valley Motocross Park on June 26. Bookmark the E3 Spark Plugs Blog and check back next weekend for the latest MX results. Don’t forget to try a E3 motorcycle spark plug with our patented DiamondFire technology in your favorite ride.

2010 Lucas Oil AMA Motocross Pro Championship

AMA 450cc MX – Budds Creek National (Round 4)

1)    Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, MN, Suzuki     (3-1)
2)    Andrew Short, Smithville, TX, Honda        (1-5)
3)    Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki         (4-2)
4)    Josh Grant, Riverside, CA Yamaha         (5-4)
5)    Mike Alessi, Victorville, CA, KTM         (2-12)
6)    Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda         (6-6)
7)    Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, KY, Yamaha        (7-7)
8)    Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda        (14-3)
9)    Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, FL, Yamaha         (8-8)
10)    Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, IA        (10-10)

AMA 450CC Motocross Championship Standings

1)    Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, MN, Suzuki    171
2)    Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki        -36
3)    Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda        -40
4)    Mike Alessi, Victorville, CA, KTM        -42
5)    Andrew Short, Smithville, TX, Honda        -51
6)    Josh Grant, Riverside, CA, Yamaha        -55
7)    Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda        -57
8)    Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, KY, Yamaha        -90
9)    Tommy Hahn, Decatur, TX, Suzuki        -90
10)    Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, FL, Yamaha        -90